First letter! May 21, 2014

Bok! (Hello)

Well, it’s been a crazy first day. They’re all about language immersion here, so I heard Croatian for an hour or two (time is weird here, sometimes it flies by, other times it drags). I think you were right when you said I would dream in Croatian, Dad. I can’t remember very much, but I’m starting to get how to pronounce words that I read. For example, Oce (father) is pronounced oh-chey like eight in Spanish but not an o at the end.

My companion is Sister Kawai (ka-why). It’s Japanese (she’s 1/4 Japanese). She’s from Orem, has a twin brother (who is currently serving in Tokyo), loves to read, and seems very sweet. There are 6 sisters in our district and 2 elders.

My P-day is on Thursday here. Unfortunately, I don’t get one tomorrow, so it’ll be another week before I get to do laundry and check e-mails. I get letters every day though! Starting tomorrow, probably.

I love and miss you all. It’s almost lights out, and so I don’t have a ton of time.

The spirit is very strong here. It’s hard, but I know it will be worth it.

Hugs and kisses!

Love,

Mallory

Leave a Reply

